My List of Impacting Christian Books

January 1, 2013

A friend mentioned that she wished she had a list of the best spiritual books.  There are so many good books to choose from but I thought I’d post the ones that have helped me the most thought the years.

Here goes:

“Experiencing God”, By Henry Blackaby  The Blackaby’s have written several books and they are all good.  “Experiencing God” is best if you can go through it with a group.  Believe it or not, when I teach it, I always use the Youth version.  My men’s group of 11 guys are loving it right now.

“Total Forgiveness”, by RT Kendall

GREAT BOOK that helps you walk through forgiving and understanding what forgiveness is AND what forgiveness is not.

“Crazy Love,” by Frances Chan   This book challenged me.  If you’ve grown complacent in your walk with Christ, this book will shake you up!

“Christian Atheist,” by Craig Groeschel  Craig says that a “Christian Atheist” says they believe in God but they live like He doesn’t exist.

“When God Doesn’t Make Sense,” by James Dobson  Sometimes we wonder why bad things happen to “good” people.  Dr. Dobson helped me walk through my doubts and wonderings about this several years ago.

“Not A Fan:  Becoming a Completely Committed Follower of Jesus”, by Kyle Idleman  This book challenges the “rich” in the world, and that includes you and me.

“Weird, Because Normal Isn’t Working,” by Craig Groeschel   Craig says that we should be weird in the way we look at our finances, relationships, money, careers, family, and every part of our lives.  Everyone else looks at them “normally” like the rest of the world and they’re a mess!  Be weird!

“The Pursuit of Holiness,” by Jerry Bridges  This is an oldie but a goodie.  I read it in college and it really taught me how God calls us to live a holy life.

“More Than  A Carpenter,” by Josh McDowell  This book explores the impact of Christ on the world.  Another one that I read in college that helped me stay the course!

This isn’t an exhaustive list.  These are just the ones that come to mind.  These aren’t just “good” books that I have read.  These books impacted my life as a Christ follower.

What books would you put on this list?

6 Responses to “My List of Impacting Christian Books”

  1. Thanks, Eddie! Great list to work on!

  2. I must admit, I don’t read enough of other people’s books. I listen to the books of the bible on CD a lot. And I am reminded often to not be just a listener but to be a doer of the word. (James) — I am describing myself as intellectual because I have within me the word, the holy spirit of Jesus, and when I put my heart and mind, body and soul into my reading, I am reminded again that the word is the truth, and the holy spirit reminds me of all that Jesus taught when he was in the world. So I’m intellectual in that way, acknowledging that we all borrow from Him. But with keeping with the Proverbs: Lean not to your own understanding, and there is success with many counselors, I would like to say I have never heard anyone “rightly dividing the word of truth” better than Christian Apologist “Ravi Zacharias”. I highly recommend any of his books and tapes at http://www.rzim.org. I am glad to be your “follower”, here at WP Rev. Eddie Poole. I love your presentation and layout. Thanks for following me. I do welcome your support at my personal cause at http://causes.com/causes/750943-promise-seed-cdc-inc

  3. Nettie said

    Thank you for this wonderful post. I really like reading books especially on apologetics and from your list I’ve already read Bridges’ The Pursuit of Holiness as well as McDowell’s More Than a Carpenter. I totally recommend Mere Christianity from CS Lewis and Simply Christian by N. T. Wright. You can check out the reviews and short summary from this site: http://booksforevangelism.org/category/resources/christianity/ . God bless!

  4. Reblogged this on The Luther Rice University Blog and commented:
    Great post by LRU Alum Eddie Poole

Leave a Reply

