Only One Thing Is Guaranteed In Life

December 10, 2012

It was too close this time…  Chloe and Greta, my son’s girlfriend and her sister, were involved in a bad auto accident.

Matthew, my son, got the call.  Greta actually called him before the emergency personel arrived.  She was still in the car.  When he called me, Marla and I immediately took off for the accident scene.  When Marla and I arrived at the scene we found Matthew sitting in his car, unable to go any further due to the emergency vehicles stopping him.

As the 3 of us sat there, it was the most helpless feeling that I’ve ever had.  We knew that Greta was ok because she had called.  We didn’t know if Chloe was alive or not.  No one said it, but that’s what we were all thinking and praying… and wondering.

We prayed together and as Chloe was being Lifeflighted, we left for the hospital.

David said in Psalm 39:4:

“Show me, Lord, my life’s end

and the number of my days;

let me know how fleeting my life is.”

I was reminded yesterday of how fleeting life is.  Nothing is guaranteed in this life outside of God.
We really don’t know how long our life is our how long those that we love will be here.  The only thing that really matters is our relationship with God and the only that that will last will be what we do for Him.
You know that you have one day left in your life.  That’s all any of us are guaranteed.
Make it count.
Leave a Reply

