You’re Not “Entitled” To Anything!

November 28, 2012

This morning I was reflecting on the message from MJLifeChurch this past week about gratitude.  I then retweeted a quote from Steven Furtick:

  “Gratitude ends where entitlement begins.”

That sounds good.  I got several “retweets” out of that tweet.  It seemed to resonate with a lot of people.

I went immediately to get into my car and it was cold outside.  My windshield was totally frosted over and I hadn’t warmed up the car.  I started the car, cut on the defrost, and sat there waiting.  What I did next is the reason for this blog.  I picked up my phone and tweeted, “My windshield is frosted over.  I don’t like frost!”

Most people don’t like frost.  That’s true, but it struck me that I need to be thankful that I have a car with a windshield that can get frost on it.  Many people don’t have cars that run.  I’m blessed and I didn’t deserve it.

In fact, there are people that weren’t able to get out of bed and walk to their car through the cold.  Some people didn’t wake up this morning and their families are grieving.  I was able to breathe AND walk to my car!  Woo Hoo!  I didn’t deserve any of that but God has blessed me.

Neither of us are “entitled” to anything.  If you have health, shelter, and a family that loves you, that is a blessing.  These things are a gift from God that you didn’t deserve.

When you wake up with a “bad hair day,” remember….  Some of us don’t have hair.  🙂

I bet no matter what your situation is, there is something that you can be thankful to God for.

Have any of you ever been guilty of “entitlement” thinking?

Leave a Reply

