5 Suggestions to Get Your Passion for God Back

August 20, 2012

Ever feel like your passion for God isn’t as strong as it used to be?  Maybe you’ve walked with God for many years, you want it back, but you can’t kid yourself.  The passion is gone.

Romans 12:11 tells us to “never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor.”  If this verse is telling us to keep our zeal, then it is acknowledging that we can loose our passion.

I’ve been there.  My heart is for God.  I would NEVER decide to commit some terrible sin or make a conscious decision to move God to the backseat.  I just looked up from life one day and realized that my passion wasn’t what it used to be.

If our passion isn’t as strong as it used to be, what do we do to keep it or get it back?

If we continue doing what we’re doing, we’ll continue to get what we’ve been getting. 

When our passion fades, it’s time for some pretty major changes.  God is worth it.

5 Suggestions:

1.  Get Rid of Any Sin:  Sin can cause you loose your passion for God.  It could be something you are doing that you never meant to be involved in.  It could also be something that you aren’t doing that He told you to do.  Have you felt like God wants you to serve in your church but you reason it away?  That’s sin too.

It could be the sin of busy-ness.  Be brutal in examining your life.  Ask God to show you any wicked way in you.  (Psalm 139:23-24)

2.  Shake Up The Place of Your Quiet Time:  You have to make time for God if you find you’ve squeezed Him out of your life. If you don’t have time to have a quiet time with Him or to serve in your church, you’re too busy.  Jesus met with God “very early while it was still dark.”  (Mark 1:35)

About once a week or so, I like to change the atmosphere of where I meet with God.  Sometimes I’ll go to the park.  I’ve been known to go to a cemetery and pray.  (It helps you get things into perspective real quick.)  I even stopped at a winery once and sat there for over an hour, seeking God.  Shake up the atmosphere!

3.  Set the Tone of Your Quiet Time: Find a couple of praise songs that really move you and start your time listening and singing to God.  One that does it for me is “What a Savior” by Laura Story.  Another good one is “10,000 Reasons” by Matt Redmon.  Raise your hands and really speak your heart as you sing along, whatever the song.  (Just pick a private place or people may stare.  Lol)  Read your Bible.

4.  Go to Church EVERY WEEK:  We shouldn’t have the mindset that we’ll decide on Saturday night what we’re doing on Sunday.  Going to church should be the default for our lives.  It’s just what we do.  There really shouldn’t be any discussion or staying home once or twice a month because “we’re tired.”  It’s an hour!  If you need more “me time,” stay home on Saturday from the ballgame or whatever.  Get your butt to church EVERY Sunday.

5.  Begin to Serve in Your Passion:  If you feel God’s presence when you serve the homeless, do that.  If you love it when a child lights up when you show them love, volunteer in your church’s children’s ministry.  God has never called us to be “Pew Potatoes”.  He doesn’t want us to just come to church every week and “soak up the Word.”  We have to put it into action and for most of us, we’re called to serve in the local church.

James 2:17 says that “faith by itself, if not accompanied by action, is dead.”

What are some other things that a person can do to reignite their passion for Christ?

12 Responses to “5 Suggestions to Get Your Passion for God Back”

  1. erin said

    If only you knew how much this was needed. Thankyou. I was scrolling down my Twitter and saw this and immediately cane here.

  2. Linden Wolfe said

    Great stuff, Eddie. Btw – how was the wine? JK!

  3. mybroom said

    I reckon, the passion fades cos we just dont actually believe that God is who He says He is. It’s only a revelation of the amazing work that Christ completed on the cross that can give us a bombproof faith. cheers Graeme

    • eddiepoole said

      I think the key is spending time with God. I remember the story of how Moses’ face shined when he came down from the mountain and from spending time with God. As time went by, the “shine” on Moses’ face began to fade until he met with God again. I think our passion reacts the same way. If we neglect time with God, our passion fades.

      Thanks for the input and comment!

  4. Planting Potatoes said

    very good suggestions!

  5. Don said

    More than falling into blatant sin, I fear becoming like a lukewarm Laodicean. Like Casting Crowns sing: It’s a slow fade.

  6. Mandy said

    I have found that I have lost my “passion” for Christ. I am going through a difficult situation right now and I realize I can’t put my faith in my husband, friends or family to solve the situation. I must lean on Christ. I must fall back in love with my God and know that he will provide for me and take care of me. HE is the only sure thing we have in this world.

  7. Veronica said

    I’m in church 24/7. I clean the toilets, serve the pastor from time to time but I have lost my zeal. I do not know how to get it back. I just read this article and maybe it will help me.

    • eddiepoole said

      Veronica, thanks for reading my blog and thanks for your commitment to God and the church. Hang in there and keep seeking. Shake up things like your quiet time or even in areas that you serve Him. Maybe that will bring back your excitement that you used to have.

      Sometimes we stop relying on God and go on “cruise control” in our lives. Maybe you need to ask God if there is a new area that you need to serve Him and trust Him in. Maybe you need to take a risk for Him. (Of course, make sure He leads you.) When we are in “control” and we’re in an area that’s uncomfortable for us, we trust Him more and grow closer.

Leave a Reply

