Dealing with Rude People and Jerks

July 3, 2012

Sometimes people say dumb things but sometimes people are just rude.  Do you know people that have a track record of speaking without regard to others?

If you ask them why they speak as they do, they may respond, “I just speak my mind.”  Translation:  I’m ok with being rude to others.

I’ve known individuals that have said “innocently dumb” things.  I’ve been innocently dumb and you probably have too but those with a pattern of running over people are a different story.

I Can Be Dogmatic Myself About Things

I realize that I can be dogmatic about my faith but I know that we’re not going to win anyone to the faith by being dogmatic AND rude.  With all of my heart, I trust God’s Word.

You can disagree with me and I’m ok with that but don’t be rude.  Rude people can get under my skin.

So how should Christ-followers respond to rude and stupid people?

Here’s a good guideline when disagreeing with someone:

“Say what you mean and mean what you say.  Just don’t say it mean.”

Jesus said:

“If you love those who love you, what reward will you get?  Are not even the tax collectors doing that?   And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?”  -Matthew 5:46-47

That’s not my natural nature.  I usually want to  “breathe fire upon them” in a cutting way with my own tongue.  My natural nature would be to jump right back down their throat.

The deal is, our response is what is supposed to separate Christ’s followers from others.  Any natural person would want to get even but we aren’t supposed to think “naturally” anymore.  We’re Christ followers and that makes us different.  (Not doormats, but different.)

Reach deep inside and ask God to help you to love the person behind the jerk.  Jesus died for them too.  I am learning to try to say what I need to say but do it with a smile if possible.  Sometimes words aren’t even warranted.

How do you deal with Rude Jerks in your life?

2 Responses to “Dealing with Rude People and Jerks”

  1. Julie said

    I SO needed that encouragement! Ty, Eddie! NIce job!

Leave a Reply

