Kicking Butt As An Old Man!

June 26, 2012

When I get old, (That’s a long time from now, btw) I want to be an old guy that can still kick some butt! I want Satan to know who I am because of Who is inside of me.

The evil one would like nothing more than for people to walk with God for years and then retire or just fade away until they die.

We all know people who have seemed to walk with God for years and then do something really dumb. We’ve seen and probably known pastors fail morally. Those stories are heartbreaking.

I mentioned in my last post (Stories of God:  I Always Want One More)  about people who felt like they had “done their time of service” in the church and now it was time for younger people to do all of the work. I’m sure Lucifer loves that one.

Caleb in the Old Testament was one of the 12 spies that checked out the Promised Land. Ten of the 12 spies came back and were terrified of going against the people to win the land. “They were really big,” said the 10 wimps…. I mean spies.

Caleb and his buddy Joshua had other thoughts. They knew that God was on their side so they were ready to go kick some rear end. The people listened to the other 10, however, and God allowed them to stay where they were.

YOU CAN’T GO ON WITH GOD AND STAY WHERE YOU ARE AT THE SAME TIME!

Forty years later everyone had died except for Caleb and Joshua. The Israelites were finally ready to go take the land. Caleb’s words are still an inspiration today.

“I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then. 12 Now give me this hill country that the Lord promised me that day.  You yourself heard then that the Anakites were there and their cities were large and fortified, but, the Lord helping me, I will drive them out just as he said.”

TRANSLATION: “I’m 80 years old and I’m just as strong now as I was then. Let me go to the hill country and kick some butt there.” (The hill country was some of the roughest terrain in the land but he was ready.)

I hope and pray that when I’m gone, my kids and those that follow me will be able to say, “He finished strong!”

THE WAY WE WILL FINISH THE RACE HAS ALOT TO DO WITH THE DAILY DECISIONS WE MAKE TO FOLLOW GOD CLOSELY NOW.

Caleb followed God closely all his life, all they way to the finish line. He was kicking butt at 80! I’ll consider my life fulfilled if I keep growing stronger, working hard, and kicking Satan’s butt til the end! At that point, I’m praying that my 5 kids are still kicking it then too, even harder than I ever did!

Roll Call!  Anyone else want to finish strong?

Leave a Reply

