Stories of God: I Always Want One More

June 21, 2012

I’ve got stories.  If you’ve known me and we’ve talked about God, you know that I’ve got a few.  God has come through in my life many times and I have a story for each one.

I tell stories to encourage people.  I tell them to assure others that God can work in their life too.  He gives stories to those who passionately seek Him and look for His fingerprints.  He even gives them to those who don’t deserve them.  (I am proof!)

A few stories that you may have heard from me include:

  • How God intervened when we were told that my grandfather had no chance of coming out of the hospital.
  • God leading me, beyond a doubt through a miracle, to go into full time ministry.
  • Against all odds, God answering the prayer of my 7 year old daughter for a little brother.  (He’s 2 now.)
  • God using my dad’s sickness to bring him to a relationship with Him before he passed away.

There are lots more and I like telling them.  The thing is, I’m not satisfied.   I want more.

In Philippians 3:13 Paul says, “But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead.”

I once served at a church that was STUCK in the past.  While it is good to remember what God did, I never want to be satisfied with that.  I want more.

I’ve also heard a few older people over the years respond to helping in the church with, “Oh, I’ve done my time.  Now the younger people can work.”  I don’t see any place in the Scripture where you retire from serving God.  Bring on more stories!

I want to strain towards what is ahead.

I want to remember and brag about God and what He has done but I want more stories of what he IS doing around me RIGHT NOW!

More experiences with Him.

I want a deeper walk with Him than I used to have or that I have today.  I want to experience more of Him with my family and with my church.

Let’s never get complacent with the past and always be looking for that next hill to climb for Him.  Let’s reach another person.  Let’s make a real difference, one life at a time.

Anybody out there want more stories?

5 Responses to “Stories of God: I Always Want One More”

  1. Pat Thomas said

    Yes, it’s important to give the testimony of miracles. Also, there is no more dreadful feeling when you realize that you attend a church that is stuck in the past. The song “Hold My Mule” really helped me move on to a new church.

  2. Linden Wolfe said

    Amen, Brother!

  3. Love this! I like sharing the stories, too, especially through writing.

Leave a Reply

