The 4 Most Important Things You HAVE To Pay Attention To

June 6, 2012

One of my favorite books of the Bible has always been Philippians.  I have just found the book to be a great encouragement in my own walk.  I was reading Philippians 1:9-11 recently.  This is a prayer that the Apostle Paul wrote for the Philippian church.  I have prayed this prayer for my kids for many years.

Even though I have read and prayed the words for years, a portion of verse 10 jumped out at me.  Paul said that he prayed that they would be able to “discern what’s important”.

Wow!  In this hectic life of running all the time, it is easy to forget what is important when urgent things seem to press us all the time.  After this verse jumped out at me, I sat down and wrote a list of what I thought was important.

Here’s my list:

1.         My Relationship with God

DAILY Quiet Time (Mark 1:35, John 15:5)  (I’m lying if I claim to walk with Christ and don’t spend time with him.)  This is perhaps the most important thing.  This can affect all other areas but it’s often one of the first things that we neglect when we get busy.

-Studying God’s Word (2 Timothy 2:15)

-Prayer (Including time to Listen too) (Psalm 46:10)

-Seeing & looking for God’s fingerprints around you (John 5:17)

2.         Relationship with Family

            Attitude:  Do I lead my family closer to God or chase them away by my actions & attitudes?

 3.         Relationship With Yourself:

a.         Take care of my Body   (Philippians 3:18)  See my previous post on “The god of Food”

b.         -Saying no sometimes (Ephesians 2:10)  God has things prepared in advance for us to do.  We can’t do EVERYTHING, but we have to do some things.  B-A-L-A-N-C-E

c.         -Having Fun (Proverbs 17:22, “A joyful heart is good medicine.)

d.        –Do I surround myself with positive & encouraging people?

4.          Relationship With Others

A.  Do people know me as a man of character? (Proverbs 22:1)

A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches, and favor is better than silver or gold.

B.  Am I sharing Christ with others?

We can get distracted with our work, lack of work, friends, busyness, and lot’s of other things.  These are just my thoughts of what’s important.

It is my prayer that I am attending to the important things in life and that I’m not constantly letting urgent things distract me.  If Satan can’t make you bad, he’ll make you busy and get you to neglect the important.

Do you agree or am I off base?  Is there anything that you would add to my list?

4 Responses to “The 4 Most Important Things You HAVE To Pay Attention To”

  1. Matt Hall said

    Good list my friend!

  2. Troy Lockamy said

    Great list and word. You know it’s sad but many of us have lists that are basically flipped. We’re serving God the leftovers instead of the first fruits. I did that for years.

    • eddiepoole said

      Troy, that’s true. Sometimes we get busy and even if we had the list as a priority it gets out of line sometimes and we have to get things back in line.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

