My Life Stinks!

February 7, 2012

Ever been in a job or a situation that you hated?  It brings down your spirit just to be there?  Sometimes in those situations there doesn’t seem to be a way out or at least a way out that is soon enough.

Joseph in the Old Testament felt the same way.  His life started off pretty well.  Out of all of his brothers (and he had A LOT of them) he was his dad’s favorite.  His birthday parties were always the best and he got the best presents.  One day all of that changed.

Joseph’s brothers got tired of the special treatment to their snotty nosed little brother and decided to get even.  They didn’t just steal his ball glove or eat his candy.  They threw him into a pit and sold him into slavery to a band of gypsies…. talk about wrecking your day!

His life was filled with ups and downs.  He was a guy that really sought God and did the right things, yet his life sucked.  Thrown in a cistern pit and sold into slavery.  He later was propositioned by his master’s wife, yet he resisted.  His reward for doing the right thing?  She was ticked off at the rejection.  He was falsely accused of trying to rape her and was thrown into prison.  Can things get any worse?

Scripture tells us in Genesis 39:2 and 39:21 that “the Lord was with Joseph.”  Now, if I’m Joseph, I’m doing the right thing, and  all of this happens to me, I might be thinking, “God, go be with someone else so my life might get a bit better.”  Not Joseph, he kept honoring God through all of the trials in his life.

Sometimes in life, we make bad decisions and we have to suffer the consequences.   We “punch ourselves in the face” and ask God why it hurts.  Those situations where we bring hurt and hard times on ourselves are a little bit more understandable than when we are seemingly innocent.Either way, it’s important to seek God and get through the situation while honoring Him.  Philippians 4:13 says that it’s possible to do “all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Keep honoring God no matter what.  It is just about guaranteed that in this world we will go through storms.  Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble.”  (John 16:33)

It’s ALWAYS better to go through the storm WITH God, as opposed to going through it ignoring Him.   As the song says, sometimes He calms the storm but sometimes He calms the child.  Keep trusting.  Keep seeking.  Keep holding on.

Here are some Scriptures that may help you if you are in the middle of a storm:

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”  John 14:27

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”  Psalm 46:1

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”  1 Peter 5:76

6 Responses to “My Life Stinks!”

  1. Dana Cutright said

    Great words of wisdom. I think I will hold on to this one! Thank you!

  2. Ryan Scott said

    I love the story of Joseph!!! I can relate to him in so many ways and see that God still loves me even when he doesn’t give me what I want. Being right with God is SO much better than being right in the world. Thanks for the encouragement:)

  3. Julie said

    This is great, Eddie! I will be passing along. U are an encourager!

Leave a Reply

