Learning to Walk in Step with God: Guest Post by Rebecca Poole

January 12, 2012

 (This is a guest post by my daughter, Rebecca Poole.  I hope her words challenge you the     same way they challenge me.)
 -Eddie
 I’m learning a lot lately.

I used to think I didn’t have an “interesting” testimony. I was born, grew in the church, accepted Jesus at a very young age, went to some church camps, a couple of mission trips.  I’ve always been a “church kid,” but I am INCREDIBLY grateful for the gift of godly parents I was given.

I thought my story was boring, but how could my story be boring when the Author of life is writing it?  I have been living an identity crisis.

I have been learning how to have a constant, uninterrupted, completely in step life relationship with God. This is how we were created to live- in perfect, unending fellowship with God.  It is a gift that we don’t recognize.  If we don’t have this, its ALL because of us.  God has always and will always be there.  Our part is to acknowledge His presence.  

Its crazy to think of how much we miss out on because we get distracted.

My prayer is for an intense awareness of God’s nearness.

If we are walking with the Creator and Sustainer of the world, He speaks into our lives, directs us, and takes us places we could have never gone alone.  There is no greater adventure than that.

Whether you live in the deep jungles of sub-Saharan Africa, or in a small town in Tennessee, you have a divine purpose appointed for you.  

I don’t even want to think about all the opportunities I have missed because I wasn’t paying attention. Tragically, we let things such as drama, anger, or even busyness pull us away from God’s side and then hearing His voice becomes difficult.

I have come to the realization that for a great part of my life, dance was on the throne. It took three ACL tears, and many tears for my stubborn heart to come around. But if three ACL tears is what it took- then I will count each on as a blessing.

God uses all things for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

I am certain that God is still blessing my dancing for His glory. And I need to remember that THAT is why I have the gift.

Not for my own pride. Or for my self-identity.

For so long, my identity and value came from the fact that I WAS a dancer.

I see now how incredibly mistaken I was. My identity does not come from me identifying myself to the world as a “dancer”, but from the fact that I belong to the Creator and He loves me.

I am His creation.

Adopted into His family through Jesus.

My value does not come from whether I dance well or not, am inadequate, valued, ugly, pretty, smart, disciplined, selfish, or whatever. But from the fact that I was so loved that I was redeemed at a precious cost.

God is perpetually calling me back to Him, even though I dishonor and deny Him daily. THAT is the beauty of this love story. Even though incredibly unworthy, I am still pursued by a perfect God.

When He looks at me, He doesn’t see a flawed, inadequate, sinful human being. He sees me covered by the blood of Jesus- clean and holy.  And He loves me.

I pray that I will never listen to who the world, or even who I, myself say I am again.

It’s amazing to look back through my life and see where God was working, even if I wasn’t aware of it at the time.

As I said before, He has always been there, is with me now, and will always be.

When we realize who He is, and who He says we are, something amazing happens. I urge you to just sit for a while and read what the Bible says about your identity. I charge you to begin constant communication with God throughout the day. And lastly, I dare you to enter or continue in a walking relationship with God.

I used to think that I didn’t have much of a testimony, but now I see that the story the perfect Author is writing for me is even more than I could ever have imagined.

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:18

“…Perfect love drives out fear.” 1 John 4:18

Because you are loved with perfect love, you don’t have to be afraid to go where love leads.  Take a walk with Him.

5 Responses to “Learning to Walk in Step with God: Guest Post by Rebecca Poole”

  1. Kim Underwood said

    Wow……so that’s my niece talking huh? What an intelligent young lady and one I’m sure you are very proud of. What she had to say was definitely an inspiration to me!

    • eddiepoole said

      Thanks Kim! I am very proud of her and the way that she serves and loves God. I believe she may have some writing talent too. That’s what I told her when I asked her to give me a “guest post.”

  2. eddiepoole said

    Reblogged this on Eddie Poole’s Blog and commented:

    This is a repeat of one of the most popular posts on my blog and it wasn’t written by me. My daughter, Rebecca, wrote it. Hope it challenges you the way it challenges me.

  3. Rev. Rick Morris said

    Please pray for my son and daughter in law, church planters in Asheville. NC. Just getting started. Spiritually very dark place. Pray for protection, provision, discernment and clear understanding of God’s will and direction. If you could spare time to encourage them, I know it would be greatly appreciated.
    Kirk & Jennifer Morris
    ironchurch@yahoo.com

    In His grip
    Rick

    • eddiepoole said

      Thanks for letting me know about Kirk and Jennifer, Rick. I’ll send them a note. Planting a church can be tough. It’s definitely only for the “called.”

Leave a Reply

