Christmas: God is With Us!

December 24, 2011

Isaiah 7:14  says, “Therefore, the Lord will give you a sign:  The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and you shall call Him Immanuel.

 

Immanuel means “God with us.” 

 

God came down from heaven to be WITH US.  He made it possible for us to be with Him.

I met Immanuel as a 12 year old boy.  I can tell you for a fact that He has been WITH ME.

God was WITH ME…..

  • He was reaching out to me and drawing me to Him as a 12 year old.
  • As I jumped on the church bus and began to learn about the Bible and get to know Him, He drew me near.
  • He was WITH ME as I lead the devotions for my high school football team before games in my senior year.
  • He was WITH ME as I met Marla in college and we were married.
  • He was WITH ME as each of my kids were born.
  • During times of loss, like my dad and my grandparents, He was WITH ME.
  • He is WITH ME now as I lead my family and church.

I am thankful tonight for the little baby that was born, willing to be WITH ME.  He emptied Himself of the benefits and luxury of being in heaven and came to Earth as a baby.  He grew up and died a terrible death, paying the price for my sin.  He knew what was required, but like a real man-the baby came.

AND HE IS WITH ME!

I hope you have a Merry Christmas.  Remember that God sent Jesus and that’s why we celebrate Christmas.

Immanuel.  God is with us!

 

Leave a Reply

