Is it Necessary to “Cover for God?”

January 3, 2011

I’ve spent most of my life talking to people about God and trying to point people to Him.  Even in my high school years, I lived for Him and I led devotions for my high school football team before games.  I’ve always cared what people thought about God.  I love Him and people’s attitudes towards Him have been important to me.

Those who know me, know that I’ve never claimed to be “Super Believer Guy” or anything like that.  I’m just a goofwad that is blown away that God loves me and I want to be used by God.God has answered prayer in my life and sometimes He has answered prayer in pretty dramatic fashion.   I’ll have to write about some of those sometime.  It just blows my mind still how he has come through in my life at times.

Even so, sometimes I have felt like I should “cover” for God just in case….  What if I ask Him for something and He doesn’t come through?  I remember a time or two that I did ask God for a miracle and it didn’t happen.  (Though, other times I have seen miracles.)  Another way that I’ve “covered” for God is by tacking on “if it be your will” at the end of a prayer.  That way, He has an “escape clause. “

Sometimes I think that if I ask God, especially in public, to do something that only He could do and He doesn’t do it, there are two possibilities that come to mind.

  1. God failed because He didn’t deliver what I asked and He looks bad.
  2. I look stupid myself because God didn’t deliver and I look bad.

Neither of these outcomes have seemed desirable to me so I’ve usually just asked things that I knew He would probably do.  Nothing too crazy or too public.  I mean…  I’ve got my reputation, right?   As a Christ-Follower, I’ve got to “protect” God’s reputation, right?

I am coming to realize that God is big enough.  He is big enough to do His will, no matter how BIG my request may be if it is in line with His will.  God is also big enough to take the “heat” or disappointment from anyone if He decides to say “no” or “later.”

I encourage you, whether you are participating in the Daniel Fast or not, to ask God for something that only He can do. Forget worrying about His reputation…  or yours.  Stick your neck out if you need to, but trust God.  Do you know what worrying about your reputation over having faith in God is called?  It’s called Pride.  Let it go.

I’ve spent most of my life talking to people about God and trying to point people to Him.  Even in my high school years, I lived for Him and I led devotions for my high school football team before games.  I’ve always cared what people thought about God.  I love Him and people’s attitudes towards Him have been important to me.

Those who know me, know that I’ve never claimed to be “Super Believer Guy” or anything like that.  I’m just a goofwad that is blown away that God loves me and I want to be used by God.

God has answered prayer in my life and sometimes He has answered prayer in pretty dramatic fashion.   I’ll have to write about some of those sometime.  It just blows my mind still how he has come through in my life at times.

Even so, sometimes I have felt like I should “cover” for God just in case….  What if I ask Him for something and He doesn’t come through?  I remember a time or two that I did ask God for a miracle and it didn’t happen.  (Though, other times I have seen miracles.)  Another way that I’ve “covered” for God is by tacking on “if it be your will” at the end of a prayer.  That way, He has an “escape clause. “

 

Sometimes I think that if I ask God, especially in public, to do something that only He could do and He doesn’t do it, there are two possibilities that come to mind.

  1. God failed because He didn’t deliver what I asked.
  2. I look stupid myself because God didn’t deliver

Neither of these outcomes have seemed desirable to me so I’ve usually just asked things that I knew He would probably do.  Nothing too crazy or too public.  I mean…  I’ve got my reputation, right?   As a Christ-Follower, I’ve got to “protect” God’s reputation, right?

I am coming to realize that God is big enough.  He is big enough to do His will, no matter how BIG my request may be if it is in line with His will.  God is also big enough to take the “heat” or disappointment from anyone if He decides to say “no” or “later.”

I encourage you, whether you are participating in the Daniel Fast or not, to ask God for something that only He can do.  Forget worrying about His reputation…  or yours.  Stick your neck out if you need to, but trust God.  Do you know what worrying about your reputation over having faith in God is called?  It’s called Pride.  Let it go.

Trust God.

Go ahead.

Dream.

ASK!

Ask him for something that only He can do if it is going to happen.

Have you ever felt like you had to cover for God?  What have you been asking God for lately?  Am I the only one that has had thoughts like this?

Trust God.

Go ahead.

Dream.

ASK!

Ask him for something that only He can do if it is going to happen.

Have you ever felt like you had to cover for God?  What have you been asking God for lately?  Am I the only one that has had thoughts like this?

3 Responses to “Is it Necessary to “Cover for God?””

  1. Dustin said

    Thanks for sharing Pastor! I really enjoy following your blog. I am Dustin I serve with LifeChurch.tv as a Interactive Online Administrator and to see what God is doing around the world and through our local pastors is awesome! Lord bless and keep you! Keep looking up!
    http://bcuzofjesus.wordpress.com

    • eddiepoole said

      Thanks for the encouragement, Dustin, and I also appreciate your work as Interactive Online Administrator. It’s awesome to have partners in ministry all over that I’ve never met before!

      • Dustin said

        Encouragement is my area brother! Feel free to contact me on Facebook if you ever want or need to chat! You can find me on the LifeChurch.tv page… I post there a lot in comments and regular posts! God Bless! Keep Looking Up!

Leave a Reply

