Good News/Bad News

February 3, 2009

GOOD NEWS: Denny’s is offering FREE Grand Slam Breakfast to anyone between 6:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.
BAD NEWS: All of the Denny’s in Nashville have closed.

I saw the ad and got excited! I thought, “Maybe I could take my son, Matthew. He loves Breakfast” After seeing the ad, I quickly got out my computer, went to the Denny’s website, and hit “Find Locations.” To my lament and dismay, the closest Denny’s to Nashville that is still in business is in Bowling Green, Kentucky. What a let down… What a disappointment…. I thought my ship had finally come in and then… sniff …. there are no Denny’s in the area to fulfill the promise of the free meal.

It makes me think of what I hear alot today about Christians. People are hurting and they need a kind word or help. Sometimes they look to Christians and we don’t quite deliver what we promise either. Is the Christian life really all about meeting on Sundays, singing a few Chris Tomlin songs, hearing an inspiring message, and then hanging out with our Christian friends? There has to be more to it. The Bible says that the early believers were known for their love. I’m examining myself. I encourage you to do the same.

Recently I heard Henry Blackaby, author of “Experiencing God” speak at my church. One thing that he said has stuck in my brain. Henry said, “People keep saying that there is too much darkness in the world today. If there is too much darkness, the problem isn’t the darkness. The problem is with the light. It’s not shining bright enough.” ugh… Could he be talking about me?

Are you letting Christ shine in your life and delivering what your label, “Christian,” promises to the hurting? Let’s be real. Go out of your comfort zone and be who God has called us to be.

BTW, can someone save me some toast from their Denny’s breakfast?

2 Responses to “Good News/Bad News”

  1. AWindus said

    Very good point!

    PS: No Denny’s for us, either…

  2. Nate and Kelly said

    I’m with you brother!
    Doing some serious self-examination as well. I was re-listening to “Practical Atheist” part 2 when he talks about “luke-warm” Christians.
    I don’t know about anyone else, but i know for sure i don’t want Jesus to spit ME out of His mouth!!!. I guess you can’t call yourself a “Christian” if you ARE ‘luke-warm’. Kind of an oxymoron??? (Not sure if i spelled that correctly) I caught fire over FOUR years ago now……just wonder if I am burning as bright “daily” as I can, to bring some light to this dark world!
    I look at it this way, If no one can tell my light is on……”What the heck am I doing????” -Nathan

Leave a Reply

