For All You Rich Kids-and me too.

January 18, 2009

Recently I read the story of the Rich Young Ruler in Luke 18.  You know the story.  A young guy, well off and from an important family, approached Jesus and asked him what he had to do to inherit eternal life.  Jesus’ response was that he should keep all of the commandments.  This guy seemed to be a pretty good guy.  At least he had the feeling that he was good.  He actually had the confidence to tell Jesus, “Oh, I’ve kept all of those.”  Now I don’t really believe that, but I do believe that he was a pretty good guy to even believe that he came close to keeping them all.  He probably went to synagogue every week with his family, studied hard at school, and did everything that a son is expected to do. He was probably the type of young man that every Jewish mother dreamed that her daughter would marry and that her son would grow up to be like.

I have always felt a bit sorry for him because of what Jesus said to him next.  Jesus told him, “If you’ve kept the commandments, then go and sell all you have.  Give the money to the poor, and come follow me.”  That’s tough! OUCH!  I thought that just believing was enough.  Jesus seemed to have added a bit to the requirements with this young man.  (I know some say Jesus knew that money was a problem with him and Jesus could see his heart, implying that only this young man has this challenge.  It’s certainly not a word for us.  Right?)

Scripture then goes on to say that it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to go to heaven.  Considering that the poorest in America are in the top 5% of the world as far as riches go, could that be why we seem to be drifting farther and farther from God as a nation?  I know the Bible doesn’t say that “money is the root of evil” but the “LOVE of money” is the root of evil, as I was recently reminded.   It’s just that Jesus didn’t really go into that at this time.  I’m also not anti-money.  I actually kind of like it.  (Sometimes too much.)  I think this story should at least cause some pause in all of us instead of glossing over it quickly.  The least of us are wealthy in the world’s standards.  The fact is, I’m rich and you are too.  Does our money, electronic toys, or worries about either preoccupy us and keep us from God?

2 Responses to “For All You Rich Kids-and me too.”

  1. Nate and Kelly said

    God has blessed us with more than we deserve…..WE ARE RICH!
    I’m with you bro!

  2. Barb Theobald said

    We are all blessed more then we deserve. God loves us so very much. Let’s not be distracted from THAT fact! Thanks Eddie

Leave a Reply

